Women's International Center Living Legacy Awards 2005

Women’s International Center [501c3]
A non-profit education and service foundation (1982-2005)
Presents the

2005 Living Legacy Awards

Saturday, May 21st, 6 p.m.
22nd Annual Celebration of Women and Excellence, in support of WIC Education Programs

San Diego’s new luxury landmark - Solamar Hotel

Marianne McDonald, Ph.D., Chairwoman & Underwriter
Tribute to Gankar Tulku Rinpoche

Sally B. Thornton, Co-chair
Zona D. Murray, Co-chair

Gloria Lane, Founder, President
Welcome note
Thank You to Donors

The 2005 Awards are jointly dedicated to the courageous men and women
of the United States military who daily defend our freedom
in the name of world peace
Major General Raymond L. Murray
[USMC-Ret] (1913-2004)
A true American hero whose gallantry will live forever

Tribute to the Military
"For Them All"

Tribute presented by John Van Doorn

Living Legacy Award Honorees

Laurel Burch
Internationally known prolific artisan, artist and jewelry designer

Pat Launer
Theatre critic, arts writer, television innovator and personality

Tippi Hedren
Actress, film star, protector of many wild animals of the world-Shambala Preserve

Pam Slater-Price
Dedicated public servant, advocate for women’s health and safety, environmentalist
Chairwoman, San Diego County Board of Supervisors, District 3.

Peace and Justice Award

Gankar Tulku Rinpoche
Recognized as the third incarnation of Gankar Tulku is a celebrated Tibetan
spiritual leader and head of Dzindu Monastery

Sistership Award

Lisa Sanders
Songwriter and singer, a woman with a life history filled with joys and courage.

Spirit Award

Bridget Brigitte
Award winning singer/songwriter, writer, poet, advocate for women.
People-mover who motivates others to become involved citizens.

Entertainment provided by
Benny Hollman Orchestra
Harriet Schock, Cynthia Hammond, Bradley Leighton


Marianne McDonald, Ph.D.

Sally B. Thornton
Zona D. Murray

Neil & June Ash
Dr. David Bailey
Ian & Ann Campbell
Derrick & Lauren Cartwright
David Cohen
Gail Connors
Patricia Del Ruth
Arthur & Sharon Ecker
James & Jan Fitzpatrick
Edward & Joyce Glazer
Joy Glenner
Mr. & Mrs. Larry Hall
Doris A. Howell, M.D.
Mr. & Mrs. Richard High
Jeanne Jones & Don Breitenberg
Craig & Linda Jones
Sally Jones
Lucy Killea, Ph.D.
Lt. General Victor Krulak
Martha Longenecker
Merle Lotherington
Jeannette Maxwell
Gen. & Mrs.
Kenneth McClenan
Bridget McDonald
Major Gen. &
Mrs. James McMonagle
Dale Morris
John & Phyllis Parrish
Hershell Price
Shirley Ramey
Zandra Rhodes & Salah Hassanein
Jeannette Rigopoulos
Myron & Doreen Schonbrun
Richard Sinatra
Matthew & Iris Strauss
Deborah Szekely
John Thornton
Carol Tohsaku
Tom & Marian Trollan
Mr. & Mrs. John Van Doorn
Cathy West

Gloria Lane - Founder / President
Jehan Sadat, Ph.D. - WIC Honorary President
Jane Alexander
Anne Bashkiroff
Zona & Jerry Bly
Gen. Eva Burrows, SA, Retired
Michael DeBakey, M.D.
Ann Blyth
Nanette Fabray
Audrey Geisel
Robin Rector Krupp
Jim Nabors
Patricia NealPatti Page
Robert Rector, Ph.D.
Alexandra Rosa
Mary Vaughn
Jane Wyatt